Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon

Cinema Saturday Creative Challenge – # 18

This is the first time I have made a card for the Cinema Saturday challenge, but I thought it was a bit of fun, and would help me to create something a little different.  This weeks movie is Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, which I have to admit, is a movie I haven’t seen, but I have used an Asian influence to make my card and and then added some red threads.  Chinese Folklore says that there are invisible red threads that connect a new born child’s spirit to all the people who will be important in the child’s life.  As the child grows, the threads shorten, drawing closer those people who are destined to be together.  The threads are said to never break or fray, binding family and friends forever.

Stamp Sets: Mostly Flowers, Botanical Blooms.

Cardstock: Basic Black, Whisper White, Real Red.

Inks: Versamark, Markers in Real Red, Only Orange and Yoyo Yellow

Accessories: Clear and Black Embossing Powder, Heat Tool, Flower and Half Pearl from Pretties Kit, Red Thread from my personal stash!

Artwork by Chris Parker-Barnes   Images copyright 1990-2009 Stampin’ Up!

6 thoughts on “Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon

  1. Firstly – Welcome to the Cinema Saturday Creative Challenge Chris! I am so glad that you found our little blog and am so happy that you played along this week! Chris, your card is just beautiful! Love the embossing on the black and the weaving of the thread (what a beautiful story behind the red thread) and what a great way to use the color red! Beautiful! Thank you for playing along this week! Best wishes,
    Sankari

    Like

  2. Welcome to the Cinema Saturday Challenge we are so glad you found us. I hae to say the first thing that caught my eye on you card was the black background. Perfect way to show case the other asian elements.. I really enjoyed reading about the red strings.. What a beautiful story… Thanks for sharing that tidbit..

    Hugs
    Brooke

    Like

Leave a comment